Cocobat are a Japanese hardcore metal band. The band formed in 1991 with four members: bassist Take-Shit, vocalist Ryuji, guitarist Suzuki Shinichi, and drummer Matsuzaki. Their first album, Cocobat Crunch, was released in April 1992 by the indie label Sinkie. In August, the band released a second album, titled Struggle of Aphrodite and began a tour of Japan with a number of other bands.
In 1993, Cocobat switched to Toy’s Factory and rereleased its original album under this label. Subsequently, the band underwent a series of changes in its line-up. Of the four original members, two left in December 1993, leaving only Take-Shit and Ryuji. 1994 saw the arrival of two new members–Tomoda (guitar) and Murochin (drums)–and the departure of Ryuji following the release of Foot Prints in the Sky. After releasing a fourth album, Posi-Traction, the band dispersed in 1995, leaving Take-Shit as the only remaining member. Cocobat reformed in December 1996 with the addition of three new members–Hideki (vocals), Kame (drums), and Koji (guitar)–and released a fifth album titled Return of Grasshopper. Since then, the band has released seven more CD albums and one DVD.