Kuricorder Quartet


Kuricorder Quartet is a polyphonic band comprising of four musicians with no previous experience in playing recorders. Since the band was formed in Summer 1994, they have released six original albums, 2 greatest hits albums, a live concert DVD and CD featuring their 10th anniversary performance. They have also participated in at least 100 projects, including film soundtracks and TV programs, as well as writing songs for albums featuring various artists. They wrote the theme music for the films, “Near equal Yayoi Kusama,” “Quill” and “YAMAGATA Scream,” directed by actor Naoto Takenaka (“Shall We Dance?”) in the nationally popular TV program, “Pythagora-Switch”. All the members compose many tunes for Kuricorder as well as other projects. One of the members, Kenji Kondo, composed the music for the 2009 Oscar-winning short animation, “La Maison en Petit Cubes.” “Quill” was released in Taiwan, and their original album “Fueshakai” was released in Korea.
In July 2006, the band published “Ukulele Kuricorder,” a cover featuring songs and music by John Lennon, Queen, Star Wars, and even Mozart. Thanks to their easygoingness, the album’s popularity skyrocketed and reached No.3 in Amazon’s pop music chart. It even climbed to top place in iTunes’ overall pop chart.
The quartet appeared on the LBC radio program with enthusiastic DJ Iain Lee. One member played in the LBC radio studio while the other members played over the phone from Japan.
Kuricorder also performed at AT Hall and the Embassy of Japan in Korea. Their unique, naive and expressive sounds catch listeners’ ears everywhere.
Official Website: