Maki Goto


Maki Goto (Gotō Maki, born September 23, 1985 in Edogawa, Tokyo, Japan) is a J-pop singer and part of Hello! Project. She is a former member of Morning Musume and has performed in numerous Hello! Project subgroups such as Petitmoni, Akagumi 4, 7-nin Matsuri, Sexy 8, Gomattou and Nochiura Natsumi.
In 1999, Maki Goto was selected as the only member for the 3rd generation of Morning Musume. Their first single after Goto joined, “Love Machine” sold over a million copies, over nine times the amount of copies they had sold for their previous single. During her time in Morning Musume she was one of the founding members of Pucchi Moni and she started a solo singing career in 2001 with the single “Ai no Bakayarō”. Until her graduation from Morning Musume she was one of the leading vocalists in most of the songs released. Post-graduation she has mostly concentrated on her solo career and occasionally on limited time Hello! Project units such as Gomattou, Nochiura Natsumi and DEF.DIVA. As time has passed, she has increasingly concentrated on acting in addition to singing.
In early 2007, Goto was chosen to be a member of Morning Musume Tanjō 10-nen Kinentai – a unit created to celebrate Morning Musume’s 10th anniversary as a group. Morning Musume Tanjō 10-nen Kinentai also consists of Natsumi Abe, Kaori Iida, Risa Niigaki and Koharu Kusumi. Their single, Bokura ga Ikiru MY ASIA, was released on January 24, 2007.
Since she left Hello!Project in 2007 she hasn´t released anything. In March or April she appeared on the news. She had smoked an cigarette in a pachinko hall. Her official blog reopened in March 2008. It stated that she was in L.A. where she took lessons in dance and singing for a couple of months. There was no mention of her signing to a new label.
She signed to the sublabel Rhythm Zone under the Avex Trax label. Her first appearance since she left H!P was at the A-nation tour in August.
Uno released her first photobook entitled UNO, in 2009.
Official Website: