ANIPUNK began in March 1997. At the time, the band consisted of GERU-C Kakka, MC Zingi from the band ZINGI and MC KON from the band BRAND NEW MONKEY. They were produced by Koji Ide. From the birth of the band, with the exception of GERU-C Kakka as always being the leader, the band suffered many line-up changes before arriving at the present line-up.
Currently they consist of DJ, rapper and band leader GERU-C Kakka, hico-vicious, a professional skater and designer, as well as ADACHI, JIRO and 卍 Ryo卍 from the band PASSION DOLLS.
ANIPUNK’s first single was released on March 21, 1997. Following their second single, Kessen no Anipunk, was the band’s first album Gyakushuu no Anipunk, released in October of the same year.
In 2001 the band released the live album ANIPUNK Live!, which consists of live recordings of ANIPUNK concerts in 1997. In the following years, each band member focussed on their respective solo careers. Despite this, ANIPUNK continued to hold small concerts from time to time.
In 2009, ANIPUNK returned to the studio which led to the release of a new album Shin Rokuon Ban: Jyo, released on June 24th. It comprised of re-made anime theme songs such as “Mazinger-Z,” “Dragon Ball” and “Ashita no Joe.”